Thanks to Netflix, I rented The Unseen Beatles last weekend, and it was very good.  The program was originally shown in the UK as part of their “Time Watch” series and it included lots of footage that had never been shown to the public before.  Some of the footage came from a man who, when he was a teenager, brought his movie camera to Candlestick Park in San Francisco to film what no one knew at the time was the Beatles’ last public concert (the roof concert in “Let it Be” does not count).  The interviews were fascinating and provided a lot of insight into why the Beatles stopped touring.  I recommend it to any Beatles fan.

I also watched Truly, Madly, Deeply last week.  It had been a couple of years since I’d seen it, but it’s a movie one does not forget easily.  Juliet Stevenson plays Nina, a Spanish translator who lives in a truly awful flat in London.  Her partner, Jamie (Alan Rickman), died recently, and she is having a lot of trouble getting over his death and moving on with her life.  She tells her therapist that she frequently hears his voice reminding her to be careful on her walk home, or to lock the back door.  One day, the grief overcomes her and, when she’s playing a favorite piece on the piano, she hears a cello accompanying her.  It’s Jamie.  That’s all I’m going to say because the movie is worth watching.  But you’ll need several packets of Kleenex because, if you have a heart, you’ll cry.  This is truly one of the most beautiful, gut-wrenching yet laugh-out-loud movies I have ever seen.  It’s hard to find but, if you can, grab it, take it home and watch it.  I’m lucky to own a copy; it’s out of print and even Netflix does not have one for rent.  I can’t even lend it out because I don’t want to risk losing it.

I love Borders coupons.  I think I may be addicted to their coupons.  With a 40%-off coupon last fall, I picked up the remastered DVDs of Fawlty Towers and Blackadder for about $40 each.  With a 40%-off coupon a few years ago, I got the original Star Wars trilogy, along with a bonus disc, for $30 or $40, and I’ve already decided that the next 40%-off DVD coupon will be used for the remastered Monty Python.   How can an avowed bargain-hunter not love this?  Anyway, yesterday, with a 33%-off coupon, I picked up a copy of Colonel Brandon’s Diary by Amanda Grange.  I now own all of the Diary books that she’s published so far.  All of JA’s heroes have a Diary now, except for Edward Ferrars.  I think that Ms. Grange does a very good job at explaining what makes these men tick and I am particularly interested in reading her theory as to what possessed Edward to propose to Lucy Steele.  After I finish Sense and Sensibility I’ll read the Diary, meaning that it’ll take over the top spot on the TBR pile.  Yikes.

UPDATE!

Deep Discount is having a mega-sale on British DVDs.  You can buy the complete Jeeves & Wooster for $23.98, the Special Edition of P&P95 for $15.98, the Complete 16-Ton Megaset of Monty Python’s Flying Circus (16 discs) for $39.98 and, in what is an incredible bargain, the 24-disc Collector’s Edition of Upstairs, Downstairs for only $59.98.

I’m on austerity right now because of a slew of medical bills that need to get paid, but these are such good bargains that I may have to succumb to the temptation.

