At least I think it’s reason number 5,382.  It wouldn’t surprise me if I’d lost count and there are actually more.

But I digress.

Today’s example of why I hate people is because, when I pulled into the parking lot of the local Chipotle for lunch (and it’s a VERY small parking lot for such a popular place) there was a young man standing in the only free spot.  He was talking on a cell phone and had his back to me.  I honked the horn, he turned around and started saying something to me.  I rolled down the window to hear him better because I could not believe that he was really saying what I thought he might be saying.  But I was right.  He was standing there in an attempt to save the spot for his fiancée.  I told him in no uncertain terms that this was NOT going to happen (let’s face it — you can take the girl out of New York, but you cannot take New York out of the girl) and, after I stared him down, he and his phone shuffled off to parts unknown.  I mentioned the incident to the manager because I was actually a little nervous that the place-saver might try to key my car or something.   Luckily nothing like that happened, but my mood definitely took a turn for the worse.

My mood was not helped by the fact that it is now pouring and I was unable to sit on the veranda and read Sense and Sensibility while enjoying my chicken burrito bol. Instead, I’m stuck inside reading about motions for summary judgment and attempting to write a coherent memo about them.   Better luck next time.

