I have been a huge fan of the Discovery Channel’s Deadliest Catch since late in season 1.  It’s the only “reality”-type show I watch and I do not miss a single episode (we don’t have a DVR chez parental units, and that just proves my devotion).

Captain Phil Harris of F/V Cornelia Marie suffered a stroke back on January 30 during an offload of crab.  The doctors put him into a medically induced coma and he “woke up” a few days later .  TMZ and the NY Daily News reported that he was showing signs of improvement after the coma, but I woke up this morning to learn that the show’s website has announced that Capt. Phil died last night.  The LA Times has a couple of nice pieces about him, here and here.  The Cornelia Marie’s website is here.

Phil was a hoot.  He worked hard and he lived hard.  He is survived by his sons, Jake and Josh, who are both deckhands on the Cornelia Marie.

Requiescat in pace, Captain Phil.  “Deadliest Catch” won’t be the same without you.

