OK, so it’s only one game, and it’s only Spring Training, but it was so nice to see live baseball again.  MLB.tv looked decent today (except for the handful of times the feed froze on me), and the Mets won, so I really can’t ask for anything more.

Lousy weather all across Florida led Jerry Manuel to scrap his original lineup and go for the “irregulars.”  Nelson Figueroa still started as planned, but the rest of the lineup was comprised of men who are household names only in their own houses (if that).  The good news is that we got to see Ike Davis at first.  Keith Hernandez, who is arguably the best defensive first baseman in history, says that, so far, he likes what he sees with Davis. The kid is one of the organization’s top prospects and people think he’s the real deal.  I saw him last year when he was with the St. Lucie Mets, and he looked pretty good.  Obviously, I’m not a scout (and I certainly don’t play one on TV), and am not an expert judge of talent, but if Mex likes the kid, then that’s alright with me.

Here is Marty Noble’s take on the game (complete with video clips).  He likes Ike too. 🙂

