until baseball season starts for the 2010 New York Mets. I can hardly wait.

I was at their final Spring Training game, against the Orioles in Sarasota, and they did not look good.  Or, rather, they did not look good in the 5th inning and beyond.  Here is the box score.  Bay went 1-for-2, Wright was 0-for-2 and Frenchy was 0-for-4.  The Mets left 16 men on base and went 0-for-5 with runners in scoring position.  In short, it was not pretty.

The day itself was, however, absolutely stellar.  I went with my Dad, and this was the first time we’d seen the Mets together since the 2002 season, so it was very special.  Another thing that made the day special was that I felt at home — I may have been at Ed Smith Stadium in Sarasota, the winter home of the Baltimore Orioles, but I was surrounded by hundreds and hundreds of people wearing the old blue-and-orange.  The game was a sell-out and Mets fans made their presence known.  We got a couple of rousing “Let’s Go Mets” chants going, and a good time was had by all, despite the final score (which was 11-0).

I did take pictures, but our seats were not close enough to the field for any photos of the action to come out very well.  I also saw Jay Horwitz in the press box, but he was just a blur in the picture, as were Howie and Wayne, who were also up there in “the catbird seat.”

But I was able to capture a couple of images for posterity.  Click on them to make them larger.

Here’s the sign outside of Ed Smith Stadium:

Here is my ticket stub:

Here is the press level; Jay Horwitz is ever-so-slightly to the left of the #5:

Here is David Wright in the on-deck circle:

Here is a very confused person who sat right behind us:

And here is the ultimate ignorant, bandwagon-jumping Yankee fan.  True baseball fans know who Yankee # 3 is, regardless of which team we personally root for.   There’s no need to remind us:

