When I first visited France back in the late 70s, I learned that everyone used fountain pens.  They even had disposable fountain pens and some sort of thingy that erased fountain pen ink.  I was in awe.  When I went back 2 years later to attend university, I did what all of the French students did and bought some of those cheapie pens when I bought the rest of my school supplies.  I loved them.  My handwriting had never looked so good.  Unfortunately, there were no disposable fountain pens yet when I came back to the US to finish my studies (and I certainly couldn’t afford a real one) so I used ballpoints again.

A few years later, I stumbled across disposable fountain pens in New York and picked some up.  Once again, my handwriting looked good, and I used them for pretty much everything, despite the fact that people thought I was a tad eccentric.  Then, in August of 1989, in honor of my 30th birthday, I went to Sam Flax on Park Avenue and bought this:

A marbleized blue Waterman Apostrophe.  I loved that pen.  I lost it a couple of times over the years, used disposables, tried roller balls, bought a Waterman Harmonie that leaked, etc.  But I always came back to my Apostrophe.

Until this past Tuesday.

I got to school, reached into my purse for my Apostrophe to take notes for my Probate class, and realized immediately that something was wrong.  My beloved pen had snapped in two and was irreparable.

So I visited ebay and Amazon and learned that the Apostrophe had been discontinued ages ago.  The only ones I could find were either in green or black or, if in blue, they came with a medium nib.   There is nothing like Joon or Sam Flax here in Sarasota, so I had to be daring and go through the Internet to buy my new pen.   So I went on to ebay and bought this from Montgomery Pens (based on Grand Street in New York’s Lower East Side — I probably passed it a zillion times over the years without knowing it):

It’s a silver-plated Waterman Allure with a fine nib.  I am very excited about it.   If I like this pen even half as much as my Apostrophe, it’s going to be a beautiful relationship.

