To say that this is not the way the team (and the fans) wanted to start the season is an understatement.  I’m not going to slam a rookie like Jenrry Mejia for giving up a home run in the 10th, but I will slam the veterans in the lineup for going 1-for-12 with runners in scoring position.  David Wright had another home run, but in a losing cause.

The Mets head to St. Louis after today’s day game.  Luckily, I’ll be at McKechnie Field all weekend, to see the St. Lucie Mets (3-3) play the Bradenton Marauders (5-1) and will miss most of  will most assuredly be a debacle at Busch Stadium. I work with a Cardinals fan who has been taunting me all week, and I’m not looking forward to hearing him on Monday.  *sigh*

Both Jerry Manuel and Omar Minaya are on the hot seat and, to be honest, good riddance to both of them.

