Break up the Mets!

They took 3 of 4 from the Cubs, for the first series win of the still-young season. The Cubs (6-10) are dreadful.  How bad do you have to be to put your ace in the bullpen?

As for the only slightly-less-dreadful (7-9) Mets, Frenchy finally got off the schneid with a single in the 4-run 6th inning (breaking his 0-for-20-something skid) and Wright finally got a hit (but still managed to strike out 3 times).  I’m not sure I’ve even seen Bay get a hit.  I know he has at least one (he does have a BA, after all), but I don’t remember seeing them with my own eyes.  Given his history, I know he will hit, but I just wish he’d do it soon.  Frankie got the save, but it wasn’t the prettiest effort I’ve ever seen.  Last night’s box score is here.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

A second Navy SEAL has been cleared of charges stemming from a prisoner claiming he’d been beaten.  Bravo!  That’s two down, one to go.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I mentioned a few weeks back (here) that I’d borrowed Gail Godwin’s Unfinished Desires from the library.  Unfortunately, I only managed about 75 pages before I returned it.  I simply could not get into it.  I lost track of how many characters there were and how they were related (or not) to one another, and basically didn’t care about any of them.  Oh well.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

And here’s something hot off the presses Arizona’s governor has signed the controversial immigration bill.  From Fox News:

The sweeping measure will make it a crime under state law to be in the country illegally. It will also require local police officers to question people about their immigration status if there is reason to suspect they are in the country illegally.

I’m not sure what to think about it just yet but, given how much Obama hates it:

President Barack Obama on Friday harshly criticized a proposed law in Arizona to crack down on illegal immigration and said his administration would examine the measure to see if it is consistent with federal law.

…it has to have some redeeming features.

