I’ve known for a few months now that I was going to need a new car.  Well, due to circumstances beyond my control, I had to buy one as soon as possible.  I’d been toying around with getting a Honda Fit, but ended up with a 2010 Toyota Corolla LE in Barcelona Red.”  In an odd twist of fate, my very first car was also a red Corolla.

The caption for this picture says it’s a 1966; I cannot remember what year my first Corolla was, but it looked a lot like this one (only in red and without the mirrors on the hood).  I bought it for around $350 back in 1982.  Here is the new one.  There is definitely a difference!  I wanted a manual, but they are hard to come by, so I “settled” for an automatic.  I’ve been driving it for a day and a half, and my left foot is bored and my right hand still rests on the gear shift, just itching to move it. 😀  Old habits die hard, I guess.

As an aside, Real Life is kind of crazy right now, but I do hope to have a column on P&P05 posted by Wednesday.  To be honest, I’m rather disappointed that no rabid P&P95 fans have come here to abuse me for daring to say it’s not perfect.  Oh well.

