I’m going to be unavailable for the next couple of days and won’t be able to post.  But one of the planned activities is a JASNA meeting up in Tampa where the assembled will watch B&P and P&P: A Latter-Day Comedy.  I’m really looking forward to hearing other people’s opinions on these two films.  Most of the people who will be in attendance have never seen either one, so this could be interesting.  I’ll report back when I can.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

My friend “N” and I have seen 5 of the 6 Harry Potter movies together, and we are both excited that the Harry Potter theme park has come to Orlando.  The grand opening is tomorrow and the reviews have been outstanding.  Even the elitist and stodgy New York Times had a good time (but the reviewer did, of course, still manage to disparage fans of the books. I guess this means he gets to keep his job for the time being.). Anyway, “N” and I decided to take the plunge and go.  We bought tickets the other night and plan to head up in late August. Yes, the heat will be oppressive, but chances are that the crowds won’t be as bad as they will be at other times of the year.  For example, I took myself to Epcot last year and hardly had to wait for anything.  Obviously, the new park will likely still be more crowded, but we plan to get there VERY early to make sure we get there when the gates open.  I’m not fond of heights, but will force myself to do as many of the rides as possible.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I’m about 1/3 of the way through Mansfield Park and, contrary to what most people will tell you, I have actually found parts of it to be very funny, especially when Mrs. Norris is the target of Austen’s barbs.  For example, check out this passage from chapter 1:

As far as walking, talking, and contriving reached, she was thoroughly benevolent, and nobody knew better how to dictate liberality to others; but her love of money was equal to her love of directing, and she knew quite as well how to save her own as to spend that of her friends.

Or this one, also from chapter 1:

Under this infatuating principle, counteracted by no real affection for her sister, it was impossible for her to aim at more than the credit of projecting and arranging so expensive a charity; though perhaps she might so little know herself as to walk home to the Parsonage, after this conversation, in the happy belief of being the most liberal–minded sister and aunt in the world.

Or this, from chapter 3:

The Grants showing a disposition to be friendly and sociable, gave great satisfaction in the main among their new acquaintance. They had their faults, and Mrs. Norris soon found them out.

Yes, the book’s overall theme is more serious than those of Austen’s other works, but Austen’s trademark snarkiness is still there for us to enjoy.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

How ’bout them Mets? They are 5-0 so far on the roadtrip (and 9-1 in their last 10). Granted, it’s not a big deal to beat Baltimore and Cleveland but, as I pointed out before, these same Mets still managed to lose 2 of 3 in Milwaukee to a Brewer team who can’t buy a win at home.  R.A. Dickey (4-0, 2.78) goes against Jake Westbrook (4-3, 4.62) tonight.  Jason Bay has a contusion on his thigh from last night’s game, but he thinks he’ll be able to play tonight.  Frankly, I think the Mets can still beat the Indians without Bay, so I hope he gets to rest the leg and save his strength for the Yankees over the weekend.

And, speaking of the Evil Empire, we get to see the exact same match-ups this weekend when the Mets visit the Bronx that we saw at CitiField last month: Takahashi/Vazquez on Friday, Pelfrey/Hughes on Saturday and Santana/Sabathia on Sunday. I won’t have access to MLB.tv’s video where I’m staying this weekend, but I will be able to follow the game via the radio feed on Friday and Saturday. TBS is airing Sunday’s game, so I will definitely be in front of the tube for that one.

LGM!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

World Cup Reminder: USA plays Slovenia tomorrow morning (10-ish Eastern time).  Luckily the bosses will be watching it, so they won’t mind if I do too.

USA!!! USA!!! USA!!!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

See you next week!

