US vs. England was fun.  US vs. Slovenia was nerve-wracking.  But US vs. Algeria is….well, it’s not quite for *all* the marbles, but it’s still the most important game yet.  The US control their own destiny — win and they’re in.  Of course, if that idiot ref in the Slovenia game had not called that phantom foul on the US, we wouldn’t be biting our nails worrying about today’s game.

Algeria has yet to score a goal.  They lost to Slovenia in the opening game, and tied England 0-0 last week.  The US has scored 3 goals: 1 in their tie with England and 2 in their tie with Slovenia. I’m watching the game right now, and the US barely missed being down 1-0 just after the 5-minute mark.  For a team that’s supposed to have a good defense, they do not look good right now.

England and Slovenia are playing at the exact same time, and ESPN3 is promising us updates of that game too. Yes, I do happen to be watching at work.  My bosses have decreed that it is both firm policy and our patriotic duty to watch the games.   Unfortunately, Comcast was down when we first arrived at the office, but it’s back now and I’m following the game while trying to get some work done.

USA!!! USA!!! USA!!!

UPDATED: 10:53 a.m. Eastern Daylight Time…

Who is paying off the refs and can I make a counter-offer before the next half starts?  This is INSANE. %^&*(&(*&^%$$#$#@#$%&^*&()

UPDATED: 12: 34 p.m. Eastern Daylight Time…

WE WIN!!!!!!! I kept waiting for the refs to figure out a reason to take back the goal, but I guess it was such a clean goal that they couldn’t come up with anything.  So the US win the group, and they and the English move on to the next round.  I see that more nail-biting is in my future…

