I hoped I wouldn’t have to use this title again, but I do.  It’s actually a good thing that the boys are playing out West because I can’t stay up late enough to watch the nightly debacles.  When the current series with Arizona started, the D-backs were 20 games under .500. The Mets were 6 games over .500.  You’d think we’d have a mismatch on our hands and that the Mets would easily win this series.

Wrong.

Two games with Arizona, two losses for the Mets.  And this was on top of losing 3 of 4 to the Giants to open the 2nd half of the season.  The first one was a thumping; Arizona won 13-2.  And then last night, Arizona won by a score of 3-2.  Metsblog quotes a tweet from David Lennon saying that Alex Cora had to get on the team’s case when he heard guys laughing after Monday night’s loss.  You tell ’em Alex.  Yes, I know that professional athletes need to be able to forget painful losses so they don’t dwell on them the way fans do, but laughing and cracking jokes in the aftermath of a pounding is not good.  I’m glad Alex said something; I just wish Wright would.  He’s the de facto captain of this team and he needs to let his teammates know that this is unacceptable.

In the meantime, too bad Saturday and Sunday are 4 p.m. games.  I’ll actually be able to watch them.  Saturday’s game is on Fox — maybe my part of Florida will air the White Sox/A’s or the Rockies/Phillies and I’ll be spared.  Ugh.  

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

As an aside, to mention something that really matters, last night’s episode of “Deadliest Catch” was a tribute to Captain Phil Harris.  It was very well done, and I freely admit I cried for much of it.  Next week is the last episode of the season and I’ll be in front of my TV at 9 Eastern to see it.  In my not-so-humble opinion, it’s the best show on television.

