Being unemployed means I have so much more time to read.  Not that I don’t want to find a job, it’s just that I am thrilled to have a chance to make a dent in the TBR list.  In between reading about real estate law, that is.

While I was re-reading another DIK  — Girl Meets God by Lauren Winner — I learned that Ms. Winner recommends Miriam’s Kitchen by Elizabeth Ehrlich, so I visited the library and took out their copy.  I am very glad I did.  Miriam’s Kitchen is New York-based writer Elizabeth Ehrlich’s memoir about growing up as a (mostly) secular Jew in New York and Detroit in the 1950s/1960s, and her decision to be more observant than she had been earlier in her life.  It’s a good read, and also contains some mouth-watering recipes. And the best part is that you don’t have to be Jewish to appreciate the food Ehrlich talks about.

I also just finished The Blind Side, by Michael Lewis.  Lewis is the author of Liar’s Poker and Moneyball, among others.  Liar’s Poker is one of the funniest books I have ever read, and Moneyball is a fascinating look at how baseball executives evaluate talent using statistical analysis.  I now have to read his newest book, The Big Short, which is another book about Wall Street (I’m #16 on the library’s waiting list for this one).  I haven’t yet seen the movie based on The Blind Side, but I already know there have to be some differences from the book.  The book doesn’t just talk about Michael Oher and his relationship with the Tuohy family (which is the focus of the film); the book also covers the evolution of the position of left tackle in American football.  I do follow football (J-E-T-S JETS JETS JETS!!), but I freely admit to not knowing as much about it as many of my friends do and some of the minute details of the game went over my head.  But that’s OK, because the human interest part of the story is just wonderful and I cannot wait to see the movie.

I also took out the two Bridget Jones books…in French.  I figured it’s a good opportunity to practice my French by reading something I’m already familiar with.  I’d wanted to find some Harry Potter books in French too, but my local libraries don’t have them.  I could try Interlibrary Loan, but it’s not quite that important to me.

Last but not least, I’ve just been notified that I can pick up Losing Our Religion by S.E. Cupp, so I’ll get to that shortly too.  Of course, I’m far behind my planned schedule for Emma, which is not a Good Thing.  Sorry.

