I’m stealing a post I made elsewhere that’s appropriate for this day:

I’m watching coverage of the memorial events because, while the programming keeps bringing back all my memories of that day, I can’t help but think that it’s a good thing. I don’t want to ever forget what happened that day.

I don’t want to forget how I felt when I heard that this wasn’t an accident.
I don’t want to forget looking out the office window with my colleagues and seeing Tower 1 fall.
I don’t want to forget that cell phones were incapacitated and people were lining up at pay phones to call friends and relatives.
I don’t want to forget being worried about friends who worked in or near the WTC.
I don’t want to forget walking home with thousands of my closest friends; we took up almost every inch of 3rd Avenue as we headed north.
I don’t want to forget the horrible smell that permeated everything.
I don’t want to forget the eerie silence, punctuated only by fighter jets circling overhead.
I don’t want to forget seeing President Bush standing on the rubble telling people that everyone was going to hear us.
I don’t want to forget seeing people line up to donate blood.
I don’t want to forget buying supplies for the first responders, including the rescue dogs.
I don’t want to forget finding out that people I knew and liked were dead.
I don’t want to forget how hard it was to get the news to my father that my mom and I were OK.

I don’t want to forget that, there but for the grace of God, I’d be one of those names being read right now.

