I finished the audio book of The Forgotten Man and it was outstanding.  I highly recommend it.

This week’s non-fiction book is a variation on that same theme: FDR: New Deal or Raw Deal (review from the Ludwig von Mises Institute; review from the Reason Foundation), by Burton Folsom, Jr., a professor of history at Hillsdale College in Michigan.  It’s not as much of a social history as TFM is, but it’s still very interesting.  Unfortunately, it’s not an audio book, so I can’t stitch while reading it, but I am working at breaking my day into compartments and making time for the important things, namely job-searching, reading and stitching.

This week’s novel from the library is Ladies of the Lake, by Haywood Smith, who also wrote the highly entertaining The Red Hat Club and its sequel, The Red Hat Club Rides Again.

I really enjoy my volunteer work at the library.  I’m there on Fridays for 2 hours and it’s one of the few aspects of life as an unemployed person that I’ll really miss.  They like having a former librarian in the ranks of volunteers, and they’ve decided that my “job” is to maintain the music collection.  The CDs are catalogued differently than the rest of the library’s materials, and it generally does take my entire 2-hour shift to get it straightened out.  I don’t just re-shelve the discs that have been returned from patrons — I go through the entire collection every week and put it to rights. I just plug in my iPod and alphabetize the several hundred CDs in the fixture.  Some weeks are easier than others and, believe it or not, I find it to be very relaxing.  It’s not mindless work — because I really do have to pay attention — and it is very satisfying to know that anyone who wants to borrow these discs will be able to find what they want relatively quickly because everything is where it’s supposed to be. If only the rest of my life could be that organized!  

As I’ve mentioned before, I’m on the waiting list for Michael Lewis’s latest, The Big Short (I’m up to #7 now), and I’m #1 on the list for PJ O’Rourke’s latest, Don’t Vote – It Just Encourages the Bastards.

As for Emma, I am cruising through the audio book; I had an interview with a recruiter up in St. Pete on Monday, and used the opportunity to listen to a few chapters.  I listened to a couple more during the week while stitching, and will listen again today while I head up to Clearwater for the local JASNA chapter meeting.  I’ll probably make a pit stop at Silk Road Needle Arts on Central Avenue in St. Pete. Obviously I don’t have a lot of cash, but I can’t be so close and not visit.  I’d wanted to on Monday when I was up there to meet the recruiter, but Silk Road is closed on Mondays, so there went that idea.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I’ve made a lot of progress with the “Fine China” project.  Here’s what I’ve accomplished since I first posted about it last Saturday:

As you can see, it’s got a ton of back stitching, as well as some Rhodes stitches, some Rice stitches and a bunch more Spider Webs.  I think it looks good so far, and I’m really enjoying the work.  I can hardly believe how quickly it’s going!

