With all the hubbub with Thanksgiving and starting a new job (yes, I got a job!), I have been remiss about posting.  I’ve started to read Northanger Abbey and took myself to see Deathly Hallows again.  I liked it even better the 2nd time.  The differences between the movie and the book weren’t quite as glaring to me this time.  I was more prepared for the scene where Harry gets attacked by Nagini, which is good because I really hate snakes.

I also recently finished a re-read of Philosopher’s Stone and am in the middle of a re-read of Chamber of Secrets.  I plan to re-read all of the books and see all of the movies before the grand finale this summer, in Deathly Hallows, Part 2. I’m noticing things in these earlier books that I didn’t see before.  There are so many hints of the things to come that I should probably take far more time in reading them than I actually do.  One example is in Philosopher’s Stone, when Harry and Ron are visiting Hagrid for the first time, and Harry complains about Snape not liking him.  Hagrid is very noncommittal, and doesn’t look at Harry when he tells him that he can’t imagine why Snape would not like him.  Since I know how the whole saga ends, I think it’s an interesting little tidbit.

I tried to explain to my father why I love these books.  They’ve become classics, and they’re not just for kids.  There are so many layers to these stories, and they can be read in a variety of ways.  OK, so Rowling is no C.S. Lewis.  But that’s OK.  Her books are still both interesting and entertaining.  I think it’s a wonderful thing that stories that tell of the struggle between good and evil and the importance of loyalty and bravery and love are so popular — wouldn’t it be nice if more people would live that way in their real lives?

