I am back from my Christmas “break,” and will do my best to post more in the new year.  The first order of business will be to finish the Jane Austen Odyssey.  I have lots of reasons for the delay, but I make no excuses.  I am almost finished with Northanger Abbey the book and will watch the movies shortly afterwards.

My Kindle arrived, and I bought all of the Julia Quinn “2nd Epilogues.”  I adored her Bridgerton series, and she has published 6 short “e-stories” so far.  Only 2 of the 8 books are left without 2nd Epilogues: The Duke and I and On the Way to the Wedding. Oddly enough, these are the first and last of the 8 books.  I read all of the 6 epilogues between yesterday and today and am glad I did.  My least favorite of the 6 novels for which there are epilogues is An Offer from a Gentleman but I really liked the epilogue.  Posy is  a wonderful character and I’m so glad that JQ decided to tell us what happened to her after Sophie and Benedict married. My favorite of all the Bridgerton books is Romancing Mr. Bridgerton, but the epilogue is my least favorite of the 6.  I thought it was pretty silly — Penelope and Colin spent way too much time arguing about when Penelope should tell Eloise her secret.   I’m glad JQ  has Eloise find out, but I just wish it had been done differently.  I’m not sure how (I haven’t had enough time to think about it), but I am convinced that someone with JQ’s talent and imagination (which I certainly don’t have) could have come up with a better story.  And yes, I loved Francesca and Michael’s (When He Was Wicked) story.  It was so sweet and such good closure for these two wonderful characters.  Kate and Anthony (The Viscount Who Loved Me) are still so cute together, and the 15th anniversary of the original Pall Mall match was laugh-out-loud funny.

I really liked meeting the almost-adult Amanda Crane in the epilogue to To Sir Phillip With Love.  I do wish we’d had a chance to be better acquainted with her husband-to-be.  I know it’s a short story, but Charles has a lot of potential, and I wanted to know more about him. And Isabella St. Clair, in the epilogue to It’s in His Kiss, is definitely her mother’s daughter, just as her grandmother, Violet Bridgerton, wished she would be.

All in all, the epilogues were fun, and I am glad to own them.  Other than these (and Kindle versions of Romancing Mr. Bridgerton and Dancing at Midnight), I have only downloaded free books onto my Kindle (so far, just all of Austen’s “Big Six”, but I do have plans for more).  I was pleased to see that it comes out of the box loaded with a couple of dictionaries (I love the idea of having a dictionary in my purse at all times!), and there are so many classics that I want to own but never got around to buying, and now I can have them in the palm of my hand and for free.  Life is good.

