I’ve taken a break from Persuasion because my interlibrary loan book arrived much sooner than I’d expected.  So, since it’s got 500+ pages and is due on the 17th, I had to read it.

The book is South Riding, by Winifred Holtby.  It was written in the mid-1930s, and takes place during that same era.  I was convinced to read it after I learned that the BBC have made a miniseries based on it starring Anna Maxwell Martin, David Morrissey, Peter Firth and Penelope Wilton.  PBS will show it at some point.

So far, I am enjoying it. Anna Maxwell Martin plays Sarah Burton, who is the new headmistress at the local girls’ school; David Morrissey is Robert Carne, a farmer who married above his station and is suffering because of it; Peter Firth is Alderman Snaith; and Penelope Wilton is Mrs. Beddows.  In looking at the cast list, I don’t see some characters who appear in the book, but hopefully they’ll be there anyway.  The more I read, the more I can see this turning into a series.  Apparently Yorkshire Television made one back in 1974, but I never got to see it and so cannot tell you how good it was.  There’s also a 1938 movie based on the book (with Sir Ralph Richardson as Carne), and I’ve never seen that one either.  Maybe some day I’ll get to watch both of them.  In the meantime, I need to finish the book by the 16th.

