It took longer than I’d have liked, but I did make several Christmas presents along the way, so I don’t feel too guilty.  The Indigo Rose Fine China project is done.  I think it’s beautiful, but you can decide for yourself.  I’m quite proud of it.

Of course, I can’t be without a project for very long, so I reached into one of the boxes o’ stash that isn’t in storage and came up with this:

It’s Summer Glory by Mary Hickmott.  I just love her designs.  The Rose Family of Great Britain piece I bought a few months ago is also one of hers. Her website is here.  You can order just the chart as a download for $6 or $7 (depending on exchange rates), but it’s difficult for people in the US to do it because they are intended to be printed on A-4 paper, which I’ve never seen here in the States.  This is not to say that it’s not available at all, it’s just that I have never seen it when shopping at Staples or Office Depot or wherever.  I’ve downloaded her charts and printed them out on ledger paper (11 1/2 x 17) because A4 is bigger in all directions than our standard letter size (legal size won’t work either).

I started Summer Glory the other day and had to rip out more than 1 square inch because I’d miscounted.  I hate frogging (“rip it” “rip it” – get it?), especially in a case like this, where the piece requires Anchor floss and it’s so hard to get Anchor down here in SW Florida.  I could easily get it up North, but not here.  It’s silly to call Tawny at Where Victoria’s Angels Stitch for one or two skeins, but I’m sure I can come up with something else to buy while I’m at it. *grin*

Happy stitching!

