Yesterday, KC and I drove up to Disney to watch her Braves play my Mets.  The place was positively crawling with Mets fans, so I felt at home.  David Wright, Jose Reyes and Ike Davis all made the trip, and Big Pelf started.  Derek Lowe and his colleagues held the Blue-and-Orange hitless for the first 5 innings, but the Mets scored 3 runs in the 6th so the loss wasn’t quite so humiliating.  The game summary is here.

Today, Dad and I stayed closer to home and went to McKechnie Field in Bradenton to see the Pirates host the Blue Jays.  The Pirates lost 5-0, and the fans were paying more attention to the Parrot than to the game after a certain point.  The Parrot was in top form, so I guess it wasn’t a total loss.

Watching games when you don’t have a vested interest in the outcome is such a different experience than watching games you really care about.  If I watch the Mets, there is only 1 acceptable outcome.  If I watch the Yankees, there is only 1 acceptable outcome.  But if I watch the Pirates play the Blue Jays, all I really care about is whether or not it’s a good game.  Today was a good game.  The Jays made some outstanding plays in the field, and they pitched well enough to get the shut out.  The game was less than 3 hours long which is a Good Thing because, after the 4th or 5th inning, only die-hard fans of the teams in question have ever heard of most of the guys on the field.  Large numbers of fans leave once the regulars do, so for those of us who stay, it’s much easier to get home.  Works for me.

On tap for next week a is an Orioles game at the newly refurbished Ed Smith Stadium.  I am really looking forward to seeing it.  From the outside, it looks just beautiful. I hope it is just as nice inside.

