As some of you may remember, I’ve been re-reading all of the Harry Potter books in anticipation of the final installment in the movie series.  I own every one of the books, but they’re in storage, so I’ve been taking them out of the library.  In the UK, Bloomsbury published a couple of different editions of the books, including an “adult” version.  The only thing “adult” about the book is the cover:

I own the Bloomsbury children’s editions of the books:

Including Harrius Potter et Philosophi Lapis, which is Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone in Latin.  This book was also published in Welsh (Harri Potter a maen yr Athronydd), Ancient Greek and Irish.  Here is a link to all of the different editions of the Potter books.  I’m not a snob, but I really do prefer the British covers.  The other reason I only own the British books is that I was so furious that Scholastic (the American publisher) thought American kids were so stupid that they wouldn’t read anything with the word “philosophy” in it that they made up something called a “Sorcerer’s Stone” just for the US market.  I learned about the Philosopher’s Stone and its role in alchemy in elementary school (back when the dinosaurs roamed), but there is no such thing as a Sorcerer’s Stone, and to change the book (and the movie) just for Americans is just stupid.  No other country did this.  None.  So I refuse to own any US copies of the book or the movie.  Call me crazy, but there’s a principle at stake.  Luckily, my public library stocks the Bloomsbury adult versions, so my delicate sensibilities are not offended. 😉

Anyway, I’m up to book 5, Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix.  It’s only the 2nd time I’ve read it, and I am liking it so much better than I did the first time I read it.  I even preferred the movie to the book, and that’s just not normal for me.  What I disliked the most last time is that Harry was always so angry that I thought the plot got lost in it.  I thought there was too much filler and not enough story.

But this time is different.  I’m reading it much more slowly and am appreciating the story more.  I don’t think it’ll ever be my favorite (that’s Prisoner of Azkaban), but I still like it better than I did before.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I try to read every day at lunch, and am about halfway through No One Would Listen, by Harry Markopolos.  Yes, I’m late to that party too (even though I’ve owned the book since last year), but all of the Madoff-related troubles the Mets’ owners are having made me put it on top of the TBR pile.  It’s a great read, and a terrific reminder of the old axiom: “if it sounds too good to be true, it probably is.” Words to live by.

