I’ve just finished re-reading an old favorite: Body & Soul by Marcelle Bernstein.  This is the story of Anna Summers, a woman who has spent the past 13 years as a nun in a cloistered order in Wales.  Unfortunate family circumstances compel her to leave the convent temporarily to help out at home (the Summers family have been yarn-spinners in Yorkshire for several generations), and the misgivings she’d been having about her vocation are brought to the forefront.  This is, admittedly, a rather dry description of a beautiful book, but it’s hard to talk about without giving too much away.   I first read the book when I was close to the same age that Anna is, and I was also looking to change my life. No, I’ve never been a nun (obedience is not my strong suit!), but I still could relate to Anna’s situation on other levels.

In 1993, a miniseries was released that was based on the book, but the series is not even close to being as good as the book.  Kristin Scott-Thomas plays Anna (for some reason, they changed the family’s surname to Gibson from Summers) and, from what I remember, she does a very good job.  But I also remember that the series isn’t nearly as nuanced as the book.  In short, I love the book, but I only like the adaptation.  Even so, I just may have to rent it so I can really compare it fairly with the book.

As an aside, tonight the Mets won only their 2nd home game of the young season (9-1 over the Astros).  You know things are bad when a Pirate-fan co-worker makes a special trip to your office to tell you that the Mets are the worst team in the NL.  *sigh*

