Here were the Florida State League Standings going into last night’s action:

As you can see, St Lucie is leading the entire league with a 17-3 record.

Here were the lineups for last night:

Anyway, here’s what happened last night: St Lucie scored first, with 3 runs in the top of the 3rd.  Bradenton answered with a run in the bottom of the 3rd.  The Mets scored again in the 5th to take a 4-1 lead but, in the bottom of the 6th, struggling Marauder Calvin Anderson crushed a 3-run home run to tie the score at 4.   I may be a Mets fan first, but I’m still a season-ticket-holding Marauders fan, so I’d been worried about Calvin’s struggles and was thrilled for him with those 3 RBIs. I did join in the applause as he rounded the bases.

Still, as nice as it was to see Calvin do well, it was even nicer to see the Mets win the game.  Which they did, by a score of 9-4.  The Marauders fielders looked like Keystone Kops in the 9th, and they allowed the Mets to score 5 in their half of the 9th.  I certainly hope they remember how to field when they’re in Port Charlotte this weekend to play the Stone Crabs (baby Rays).

The Mets are now 18-3, and the Marauders are in 3rd place with an 11-10 record, 1/2 game behind the Fort Myers Miracle (baby Twins).

St Lucie comes back to Bradenton next week, and I’ll be there.  So will some of the very nice Mets fans I met this week.

LGM! (and LGM! )

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

PS — I’ve started the first leg of the ‘thon, and am re-reading Jane Eyre.  I’m trying to take it slowly but, as I discovered when I was re-reading Austen, it’s very hard to do that with books you’ve read so many times.  During that same trip to the library, I also took out Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows because I need to finish the book and then watch all of the movies by the time the new one opens in July.  And, speaking of which, here is the trailer for DH part 2:

Even though there seem to be some major deviations from the book even in this 1+ minute trailer, I am still looking forward to seeing the movie.

