OK, it wasn’t the “Real” Mets or the “Real” Yankees, but it was still a professional game and it still counted for league standings.

Yesterday, after my JASNA meeting, I met N for an early dinner at Tampa’s best Chinese restaurant, Yummy House.  It’s the only restaurant I’ve found outside of New York that offers salt-and-pepper shrimp (it is sometimes known as salt-baked shrimp) and it’s very, very good. Lots of onions and garlic, with firm-yet-tender shrimp.  They told us that they’re opening a new place in St. Pete, which is less of a schlep for me than is Tampa, so maybe N and I can try that branch at some point.  I also read someplace that they might open a Sarasota location.  If that is indeed the case, I will be there!

After dinner, we headed over to George M. Steinbrenner Field to see the St Lucie Mets take on the Tampa Yankees in Florida State league action.  The Yankees had taken the first 3 games of the series, so last night’s win prevented a sweep.  There were quite a few Mets fans in attendance and, for the most part, we were treated well by the Yankee fans.  I took a couple of pictures of the stadium complex:

Here is Casey Stengel’s plaque:

And here is Yogi Berra’s plaque:

The Yankees seem to retire numbers of guys just because they’re breathing which, to me at least, dilutes the importance.  Yes, Ron Guidry was a terrific player, but he’s not a Hall of Famer, so I’m a little unsure as to why his number is honored.  But hey, I’m not a Yankee fan, so I have no emotional attachment to him.  But I definitely have an emotional attachment to Casey and Yogi.  Yogi gave me an autograph when I was a little girl, back when he was a Mets coach.  The autograph has disappeared over the years, but I will never forget how nice he was to me.

There’s also a World Trade Center memorial.  Here:

here:

and here:

Here is some of the decor inside the stadium:

And here is the scoreboard with the final score of the game:

You have to enlarge the picture to see it (we were sitting right behind home plate, so it’s a long way away), but it’s there: 12-7.

But I’ve saved the best for last.  We visited the gift shop because N, who is a Yankee fan (but I love her anyway), wanted to see if they had any bobbleheads. Unfortunately for her, they didn’t, but they did have this:

Yes, that’s right.  It’s a Yankee toaster that makes Yankee toast.  Is that not the single tackiest thing you’ve ever seen?  I think it even beats my Mets home run clock for tackiness:

Despite the fact that the pitching was poor and the fielding was sloppy, we had a great time.  Steinbrenner Field (f/k/a Legends Field) is huge, and it’s a great place to take in a ball game.  I’m very glad I went.

