So far, I’ve watched the movies for years 1, 2 and 3 and thoroughly enjoyed them.  Watching Philosopher’s Stone for the first time in ages was particularly entertaining because the kids were all so young and adorable.  Fred and George’s voices hadn’t yet changed, and Percy wasn’t quite as much of a prat as he is later in the story. It seems like so long ago.

Whenever I would come home from seeing the movies on the big screen, all I did was complain at how much was missing from the books. But watching them one right after the other, with a month or so break from having finished the last book, has served to remind me just how wonderful the films really are.  No, they are not exact re-tellings of the book, and yes, I still absolutely disagree with some of what was cut out, but overall, the  movies are just wonderful.  Even though you know the stories, you are still on the edge of your seat waiting to see what happens.

The movie opens on July 15, which is 3 weeks from this Friday, and I’ll see it on July 16 at a 9:45 a.m. show.  I can hardly wait.

