N and I went to see DH2 this morning.  The theater was pretty crowded for a 9:30 show, but we did get to sit together and were far from being the last people in the theater.

The movie was just amazing. It was breathtaking.  It was gripping.  It was heartbreaking. We knew how it was going to end, but we were still on the edge of our seats at some parts, and we still cried at others.

There were, however, a couple of things that I don’t understand.

First, what reason could they have for omitting having Harry explain the whole Elder Wand business to Voldemort in front of the whole crowd? Instead, he just tells Ron and Hermione when they’re all alone.

Second, I thought that the scene in the book, where Harry repairs his old wand with the Elder Wand and then decides to put the Elder Wand back in Dumbledore’s grave was very moving. What possessed them to have him just break it in two and toss it away?

Third, why wasn’t Crabbe in the Room of Requirement? I thought I’d seen him earlier (he’s in the credits). And who was the new character in the Room with Goyle and Malfoy?

And, last but not least, I didn’t like the way the diadem was handled. Luna doesn’t tell Harry that he should ask the Gray Lady; he comes up with that on his own. And why did they change the Gray Lady’s story? It was perfectly fine the way Jo Rowling wrote it.

You may say I’m being nitpicky and a purist.  But I disagree.  These were changes that weren’t made in the interest of time (after all, what was the point of having Harry and Voldemort fly around the castle?), and changes that didn’t affect the story materially.  They just seemed to be change for the sake of change.  And the way the diadem was handled reminded me of something in Half-Blood Prince that annoyed me — in that movie, we never saw Harry put the diadem on the bust so he’d have an idea of where to look for it later on. Instead, they have him being able to hear the horcruxes.  That was, in my opinion, a bit over the top.

I cried for most of the second half of the movie.  I liked seeing Harry able to speak with his parents, Sirius and Lupin.  I did think Snape’s memories were too short, but we did get to see how much he loved Lily.  Alan Rickman is a brilliant actor, and he shows his talents to us once again in this film.  The audience applauded when Molly killed Bellatrix.  I’m glad that Ciarán Hinds found his way into a Potter movie (as Aberforth Dumbledore); I’m just sorry we didn’t see more of him.   The epilogue was very sweet, and I’m glad they re-shot the scene.  The actors looked so much better this time than they did in the clips that were leaked last year.

Overall, I really, really loved the movie.  I cannot wait to see it again, and I will definitely be buying it as soon as it comes out on DVD.  If you’re a Potter fan, run, don’t walk, to see it.  You will not regret it.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

On Edit — I have found out why Crabbe (Jamie Waylett) doesn’t appear in DH2.  He was arrested in 2009 for both possessing and growing marijuana.   His character doesn’t appear in DH1 at all, so I didn’t notice his absence until DH2.  I could have sworn I’d seen him at some point in the movie.  Maybe it was in a flashback.  I’ll pay more attention next time I see the film.

