Summers here are oppressive.  I pack my lunch every day to save money, but I also do it because going outside at high noon is decidedly unappealing.  Unfortunately for me, two of my work colleagues sit in the kitchen and watch Cheaters, which is, I believe, even worse than that Joan Rivers show that I’d previously stated should be considered for the title of Worst Show Ever. This show is awful.  And it’s loud.  And I just couldn’t take it anymore, so I’ve started to take my lunch and my book and go into a conference room and read in the peace and quiet.

So, what have I been reading?  Righteous Indignation, by Andrew Breitbart.  It’s a combination of a memoir and a rant against the mainstream media.  I liked it.  My current book is Bought and Paid For, by Charlie Gasparino.  I just started it, but it’s been very interesting so far.  I worked in and around Wall Street for many years, and I’m betting that very little of what’s in this book will surprise me.  I’ve known for years that the biggest of the big muckety-mucks on Wall Street aren’t Republicans, but it’s in the Left’s best interests to continue to promulgate that myth, and millions of people around the country believe it.

A book I bought for my Kindle because the library doesn’t have it (yet?) is Reckless Endangerment by Gretchen Morgenson and Joshua Rosner.  I haven’t read much yet because of all the library books, but it’s interesting so far.  Morgenson is a Pulitzer Prize-winning business writer with the New York Times, and I saw a couple of interviews she’s given about the book, so I decided to read it.  Morgenson and Rosner take no prisoners.  They name names and, based on what I know so far about the story they have to tell, they tell us that the blame for the financial crisis that hit us in 2007/2008 doesn’t just belong to Wall Street investment banks.  Quite a lot of it rests on the shoulders of Washington politicians. My own opinion (based on having worked with people whose homes are in foreclosure) is that some of the blame belongs to to people making $75K who happily sign the paperwork for a no-money-down loan on a house valued at $350K; this tells me that there is more than enough blame (and greed) to go around.

On a lighter note, there’s P.S. I Love You (not this cover), by Celia Ahern.  I’d rented the movie a couple of weeks ago, and had had no idea that it was based on a book.  So, of course, I had to take out the book.  Holly is a young widow whose husband, Gerry, died of a brain tumor. He knew just how difficult Holly’s life would be, so he writes her letters that are to be given to her after his death, and they help her cope with the loneliness and also with the idea of moving on with her life.  The movie made me cry almost from the opening credits, but the book didn’t.  I think the reason is that the book showed more humor than the movie did.  But the book and the movie are both very sweet and I recommend them.

Another book I took out is Mansfield Revisited by Joan Aiken.  Yes, it’s based on Austen’s Mansfield Park, which means it’ll be the subject of its own post later on.

