Last night was Breast Cancer Awareness Night at McKechnie Field.  The team helped raise money for local charities by selling raffle tickets, auctioning game-worn jerseys, etc.  The two local hospitals (Manatee Memorial and Blake Medical Center) had booths and offered up breast self-exam information, brochures and, of course, swag.  My mother and my aunt are both two-time survivors, so I showed up in a pink shirt and bought my raffle tickets.  Unfortunately, a game-worn jersey is out of my league (no pun intended), so the 3-for-$10 raffle tickets were all I could do.  But it’s still something.

Breast cancer can be beaten if it’s caught early enough.  I cannot stress the importance of monthly self-examinations, regular check-ups with your doctor and, of course, mammograms.

Oh, and the Marauders and their special pink-and-black jerseys won the game on a wild pitch in the bottom of the 9th.  Way to go!

