I know it’s been a while, but Real Life has gotten in the way.  There has been plenty to write about (the Sarasota Chalk Festival, the culture shock I’ve experienced in switching from a Droid to an iPhone 4S, figuring out how to set up shop on my new laptop [an HP Pavilion g7], how much the Jets are ticking me off, etc.), but I just never got around to doing it.

However, I did manage to read a book, Farangi Girl, by Ashley Dartnell.  It was an excellent read.  This is Ashley’s memoir of growing up in Iran and Florida.  Her family is scarily dysfunctional, and I imagine that most people who read this book would be grateful that they did not have her parents.  Both are selfish and cruel in their own way, and I am truly amazed that Ashley grew up to be as well-adjusted as she seems to be.   In the interest of full disclosure, I was acquainted with Ashley in college (but not well enough that I would claim to be her friend) and I really did always think that she had her head on straight and that she was very “together.”  Regardless, the very fact that she managed to survive such a rough childhood with her sense of humor and her sense of self intact is admirable.  Farangi Girl  is not available in the US, but if you have the wherewithal to buy it from one of the offshore outlets, you should do it.  It’s an excellent book and I highly recommend it.  (Here  is a review from the Daily Mail)

I am currently reading The Wilder Life, by Wendy McClure. It’s another memoir, but it’s nothing whatsoever like Farangi Girl.  McClure is obsessed with the Laura Ingalls Wilder books and this book tells the story of how she sets out to learn as much as possible about the “real” Laura and the “real” stories.  I’m only a few pages in but, from what I’ve seen about the book, McClure doesn’t seem to have known much about Wilder other than what appears in the books.  I have read all of the books, but I have also read several biographies of Wilder, as well as books taken from her diaries and articles she wrote from the perspective of an early 20th century farm wife.  So I know somewhat more about Wilder than McClure did when she started the project.  But it does sound like a worthwhile experience, and I am looking forward to reading about it.

It took a while, but I finally got  back to reading Reckless Endangerment, by Gretchen Morgenson and Joshua Rosner.   I’m not as far along as I’d like to be, but as I’ve said before, it’s really an excellent read.

Yes, I know I’m reading recent purchases rather than working on the massive backlog.  So sue me.

