My most recent trip to the library was a disappointment. I took out 2 books for which I had high hopes, and brought both of them back unfinished. In fact, I barely got through 50 pages in each of them before bringing them back to the library.

First is The Lost History of the Canine Race: Our 15,000-Year Love Affair With Dogs by Mary Elizabeth Thurston.  I recently rented a documentary about dogs from Netflix, and Ms. Thurston was one of the interviewees.  I thought she had a lot of interesting things to say in the documentary, so I decided to take out the book.  Unfortunately, I did not find the book to be as interesting as the documentary.  I found it to be very dry and I quickly lost interest.  I’m not quite sure what I was expecting, but this was not it.

Second was American on Purpose by Craig Ferguson.  This is another book I had high hopes for, but they were quickly dashed when I discovered that Ferguson’s primary means of getting laughs was through the almost non-stop bashing of George W. Bush.  The insults weren’t clever or original — they were merely gratuitous.  They also got really old really fast, so I put the book down after a chapter or two with no regrets.

Mom and I were at Books-a-Million the other week and I picked up the first 4 books in a mystery series I’d never heard of before.  The author is Rhys Bowen, and the books are in her Royal Spyness series.  The series focuses on Lady Victoria Georgiana Charlotte Eugenie Rannoch, 34th in line to the British throne and totally penniless since her brother Binky, the Duke of Glen Garry and Rannoch, cut off her allowance because his dukedom isn’t worth quite as much money as it used to.  I just finished book 1, Her Royal Spyness, where “Georgie” finds a dead body in her family’s London home and sets out determined to prove that Binky didn’t kill him.  I suspected “whodunnit,” but I still found the book to be entertaining.  I am about to start Book 2, A Royal Pain.

I also just started a book I bought a while back, The Cello Suites, by Eric Siblin.  I love Bach and I love the cello, so I am really looking forward to this one.

