I’d been dying to see this one but, until today, it had only been at Burns Court. But for today and tomorrow only, Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy was this week’s featured film for “Burns Court at the Ranch”.

The cast is stellar: Gary Oldman, Ciarán Hinds, Colin Firth, John Hurt, Benedict Cumberbatch, Mark Strong and Tom Hardy, among others. I admit to never having read the book but, since John Le Carré himself was involved in the production, I figured it would be pretty faithful to the original story.

I liked it enough to want to read the book and see the 1979 TV series starring Alec Guinness as Smiley, but I have to admit that I found the ending to be extremely confusing. The person who was eventually outed as the mole was on my list of suspects, but I walked out of the theater having no idea whatsoever how Smiley determined who it was. Neither, by the way, did any of the people who sat near me.

I’d really love to hear other people’s opinions of this movie.

