I just finished Monica Ferris’ latest Needlecraft Mystery, Threadbare.  As my regular readers know, I have been a fan of this series since the beginning, but Threadbare just didn’t do it for me.  I figured out pretty quickly “whodunnit” and wasn’t really impressed at how Betsy figured it out.  There are times when I’ve figured out who the murderer is and the fun is seeing how the author wraps everything up.  But in this book, I actually got bored.

Ferris does something different in this book than she has in her other books.  Here, we get inside the head of several characters and all of them could have reasons to commit murder.  I don’t remember her using this technique in any of her other books, and it seemed to me throughout that she was getting desperate in trying to prevent us from figuring out who the murderer was too early in the story.  But I figured it out almost immediately upon meeting the character, and nothing changed my mind.

In the final analysis, I’ll give this series another go, but I haven’t enjoyed the last few books.  I liked the earlier books enough that I will definitely be sorry to say good-bye but, if the future books in the series are as obvious as the last few have been, I won’t have trouble moving on.

